More Than Awake: Alive

Good morning, Father!  What a great pleasure to have these quiet moments with You.

How can I be at my best for You today?  Keep me sharp!  Keep me fired up!  Keep my mind ablaze and my body strong.

As I’ve contemplated this last month at my new ministry venture, I am excited, optimistic, and admittedly overwhelmed.  I wonder…  are we really getting it?  Have I come close to grasping the great things You have set in motion?  Has this flurry of excitement and good-will blurred our focus to the deep and difficult things to which You’ve called us?

I understand Your power and Your provision more than I ever have in my life (though, admittedly, I have much to learn yet!).  Still, I know that You desire much of me so that I can grow stronger.  Weakness, I’m told, is good because it breeds trust in You.  But I’m also experiencing this heart-rending understanding that You didn’t give me these “talents” so that I would bury them in the ground.  Make me wiser, more discerning, so I will invest well.

Move me, move us, oh God!  I sense the atmospheric change…  Your winds are blowing…  the sky is right.  Things are shaking and moving.  The enemy will soon be on the run.  There is nothing that can hold back the powerful things You intend to do.  Form me here in these private moments for the powerful movements of the public moments.  Shape me here in these hours of forming so that I will be fit for the hours of action.

Train my ear to Your stillest, smallest of whispers so that I will be in tune with You when the noisy battle rages.

Sharpen my battle skills so that I’m so sharp and precise, my movements cut away only the things of the enemy.  Let no person be harmed…  this is a mission of saving graces, not murderous rage!

And yes…  yes… yes…  strengthen me in the area of tenderhearted kindness and mercy so that I may be more like You.  Firm up my resolve to speak truth and grace all in the same mouthful.

Rise up workers to walk along with me.  I will go it alone, but I prefer to go with many alongside.  Even now, ready the workers around me.  Fuel us for the mission.  Unite us with love and concern.  Let compassion rule our motives.  Let the clouds roll away and Your glory rise!  Yes!

Spark me now for the work of the day.  Keep me attentive and useful.  Hear my words of worship and adoration…  may they saturate all that I do.

Let Your glory rise.  Let it rise in me today, my Lord!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment