Social Life

(It has been a tumultuous couple days for me with my wife’s health issues creating complications and frustrations.  I am approaching my journal prayer a bit differently today.  I have a sense that I need to spend a few moments praying over you, the reader who comes here to pray with me, for healing in regards to your social life.  God is teaching me more and more to not only pray for spiritual, physical and emotional healing, but for social healing as well.  So here is my simple prayer for you.)

Spirit of the Living God, fall fresh on me!  Help me as I strive to serve others first that I will do so in the power of Your mighty, Holy Spirit.

I pray now for my friends who visit here to pray with me that a fresh healing will fall in regards to the social aspect of who they are. I don’t know the specific, but I do KNOW that as I pray this, You are revealing things to hearts that You want to make well.

I pray for relationship healing.  I pray that today would be the day of humility and forgiveness for each of us.  Help us to make right a relationship that we are absolutely sure was not damaged because of any fault of our own.  Give us the emotional strength and the inner humility to walk in grace and to be ready to say, “I was wrong.”  Give us strength, oh Lord!  Let the healing come.

I pray for healing in friendship circles.  Where unhealthy attitudes or talk is being shared and we willingly participate.  Break our hearts over the hurtful things we share, and let Your healing come.

I pray for healing in our attitudes about what society owes us.  Create in me, and in my friends here, a new heart that willingly serves others first.  May all shards of brokenness over feeling victimized be swept away.  Bring healing!  May we become industrious and diligent about serving our society.  Make us hard workers and willing servants.  Help us, Lord to overcome.

I pray for those who have been hurt by society that all the hurt will be swept up in Your healing wave, and that social ills will be met by Your blood.  Renew hearts, let grace and mercy rule the day.  Heal our society.  But I sense that the healing must begin in each of us, including me, first and foremost.

I pray that you would heal us in regards to what we do with our social hours.  Let them not be wasted or used to humiliate or ruin others.  Let there be a mighty flood of justice and an endless river of righteous living (Amos 5).

You, my God are DELIVERER.  Deliver us now, I pray.  Holy, health-making God, bring health to our social lives.  Bring healing to our social hurts.  Let there be wellness, and let Your glory rise!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment