My Own Personal Brand of Foolishness

Hello, my Father.  As I prepared to enter into this prayer time, my mind took a side road and pondered the relevance of this being “April Fools Day”.

Two stark things came to my mind.

First and foremost, You are no fool! You see all, know all, and You’ve been there, known that.  This is a remarkable truth that I carry with me knowing that all my thoughts are a prayer to You, everything my mind discerns is discerned in conversation with You, and there are no mysteries about me where You’re concerned.  I suspect that it’s especially noteworthy to remember this, because I’m also reminded that You love me anyway.  Your grace and mercy and tenderhearted kindness blows my mind – or, at least, it blows away the fear.

Next, I remember that You abide fools and the wise alike.  I’m so thankful that my own personal brand of foolishness is no deterrent  to Your mission of mercy and salvation.  Though I still find ways to slip into foolish thinking, Your Spirit is faithful to counsel and instruct and guide.  Thank You that You saw fit to rescue me in my foolishness, and You went so far as to prepare a place for me at Your table.  Simply wonderful.

These thoughts turn my mind to the ways I treat others.  Give me peace and direction so that I may treat all encounters and all relationships with godly presence.  Let love be my motive, my first, my middle, and my last response.  Let my words be few and truthful and graceful.  Put this patience You’re developing in me to good use.  Inspire me, remind me of Your with-ness, and keep me calm and rational.

May I walk in Your ways, Oh my God!  Keep me near to You, precious Jesus, Lord and Savior.

Your Name rises far above others, You are great beyond compare.

So as I enter into this day’s worth of adventures and study, be my shepherd.  Remind me regularly that I am Yours, and You are mine.  Make me a blessing, I pray.  Let Your glory rise!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment