God, Much Bigger

You are the God who surpasses all we can imagine!

Father, I see how we try to confine You to boxes of understanding that we can easily contemplate and frame.  You are much greater!  Our notions, our words, our frames are inadequate for Your greatness.

You can fill the most desolately empty places.  Your answers are far greater than simply an amen to our questions.

I praise You, honor You, adore You, I give You my worship and praise because You are all-surpassing God.

I revel in this idea today not only because I see how You are at work in my life, but I am continually dismayed at how many fellow believers insist that You be a small God, only fitting to their constructs.  No wonder our faith is so small.

Your day is centuries to us, Your breath is a lifetime of breathing to us, Your knowledge cannot be contained in the greatest library, Your beauty cannot be held in the most magnificent museum.

Forgive me for the constraints I’ve placed on my thinking about who You are and what You are willing to do today.  I’m tired of groveling in mediocrity when it comes to my thoughts of You.  You have inspired me in fresh, wonderful ways today.

As I bring the questions of my heart and the hurts of my community to You, I have a new depth of appreciation for Your ability and willingness.  You are far more.  You are greater than.  You are leagues above.

I understand more everyday what it means to rest in You.  It’s not about sleeping, it’s about trusting and being at peace!  Thank You, my wonderful Father.

You are Lord of Heaven’s armies, You are the gentle Shepherd.  Let Your glory rise.  Let it rise in me today!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment