The Snowfarer’s Prayer

Good morning Father.

The cold temperatures here today at first make me want to feel sorry for myself.  But quickly my mind goes to those with draftier houses than mine.  I think of those who can’t get out of the house safely and stare loneliness in the face.  I think of the ones stuck in ditches and the ones who have to walk to work through this.  I pray a blessing on these for safety, wellness and warmth.  Help us to be hardy snowfarers!  Send helpful strangers, enlighten willing neighbors, call us to the plight of those who are suffering in the cold.

Yes, warm our hearts to those who are freezing!

Make me mindful today that my prayer to be a blessing to others takes me INTO their lives even on the most inconvenient days.  Walk with me.  My words turn to groans as I realize the depth of my need to be more helpful to those who struggle.  Turn my heart afresh to them.  Give me the means to be helpful.  Make me strong.  I will walk with You, Father.  Grab me if I slip, would you?!

Our plight isn’t just about bad weather – give me new eyes and Your heart for those whose world is perpetually frozen over.  Give me the strength to clear the walkways for those who encounter tragic emotional, personal and spiritual snowfalls even in warm weather.  Make me more keen to the cries around me.  Help me to know how to help in a way that is profitable and fruitful.  Counsel me if I turn to the easy approaches that only enable these dear ones to remain in their plight.  Help me to be wise and discerning so that I can marshall the tools needed to enable my brothers and sisters in hard places to thrive.

Bring Your wellness to my heart, I pray.  As I contemplate Your glory and majesty and beauty, my adoration hints at my own depravity.  My gratefulness for Your blood gift of salvation grows each day.  Let it be my rocket fuel to live like a part of this masterwork, this masterpiece You are creating.  I am new in You, I am participant in the good things You planned long before I came along.  Let this worship inspire me to the better things You have in mind.  Make me an encourager, a dreamer/doer, a blessing to all those I serve.

All to You, my precious Savior – I surrender more!

Let Your glory rise – truly let it rise in this community today.  Let it rise in me as well.  All praise to You, wonderful Maker.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment