There’s Snow Peace

(If you can get beyond the titular pun, this is a prayer for the discovery of peace, and my inner resolve to be a source of peace to my community through the hope I have in Jesus.)

Father, as I stomped through the newly fallen snow to get here, I was once again overtaken by the peacefulness and serenity of Your creation.  Certainly I’m glad not to be driving in it right now, but observing wintery beauty brings such a sense of awe to my quietened heart.

This leads me to pray that I would be a source of peace to my little patch of earth this winter.  Help me to exhibit a holy calmness and strength.  Give me an understanding and discernment that guides my vision, my steps, and my words.

You are Jesus, Emmanuel…  with us!  Thank You for this extraordinary way of knowing You.  Interweave this good news into every encounter, every action, even every unassuming moment.  Make me a deep, rich source of Your love, goodness and tenderhearted kindness that brings life and welcomes good transformation.

I don’t want to be conformed to this world…  not even the seemingly good, churchy kind of stuff.  I see so clearly these days how we in the organized church have conformed to the world by conforming to both tradition and modernity rather than being transformed by You.  I commit to You afresh that the thing I cherish most is You, Your ways, Your Word.  I want to cause the things of my world to conform to You, so that I may be useful in every manner.

Bring Your peace to me today so that I may be a source of peace to the families that are hurting, the ones with the big ol’ question marks looming over their heads.

Bring Your peace to me today so that I may be a source of peace to the proud and the loud that have lost hope in the din of their own resounding voices.

Bring peace, create peace in this community.  Let hope arise, let Your glory shine out.

Bring peace, create peace for my prayer friends who gather here with me to pray these prayers.

Bring peace, create peace for the ones dreading the celebration side of Christmas this year.  Bring quiet healing and let the light of hope shine bright.

Let there be peace on earth…  and make me the glad welcomer, ringing a bell of hope, so that many will enter in to Your peace and hope and life.

You are so good, my King!  Let Your glory rise.  Let it rise in me today.  Let it be so.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment