Spare No Arrows

(There’s something about the powerful presence of God in prayer that lowers the demands of pride and finds healing in vulnerability.)

First of all, Father, thank You for inspiring me to listen to that old song, “Be Still My Soul” by The Imperials this morning. Reminded me of getting up early to work at the radio station during my college years! And best of all, it brought needed stillness to my soul. Seems strange that I would need to be stilled first thing in the morning, but the enemy seems to enjoy rushing me with overwhelming thoughts and emotions at times.

Speaking of the enemy, and I do so acknowledging Your triumph over all evil, thank You for the word from Jeremiah that reminded me of deliverance over captivity. Father, I pray now that you would make this place of prayer a stronghold. Let me take nothing for granted; I submit not only myself, but this room to You as well. Be mighty in this place! No room for darkness – only life! Fortify me for the battle. Fortify me so that I might spare no arrows, but fire against the destruction of the enemy. Keep foremost in my mind that this battle is not against flesh and blood, but against evil. The enemy is like so-called “mighty” Babylon. But Your people are on the way home, and we shall be at the ready to strike a blow against death and destruction in Your Name. We must spare no arrows!

OK, so here’s something really bugging me. At a point in my life where I believe I have really grown in love, mercy, kindness and acceptance, a monkey is thrown into the wrench!!! (Pardon my mixed metaphors, Lord!) There is one who I encountered again this past weekend who challenges me in some interesting ways (not that there aren’t many – but this one person proves to be a particular challenge). I’m sure people view her as one of the “crazy ladies” of the area, and even that grieves me. I think I succeeded in the grace and mercy department to an extent, but I feel sick that my love and kindness waned. Frankly, I failed to see You standing next to her, longing for her. That one is on me. I confess it and seek strength for this test to my resolve and my surrender to You. My fleshly side (and indeed, my olfactory senses) would prefer not to deal with her. But my heart is laid bare with Your compassion. Help me, help me, help me…

And with that I am again reminded that my prayer to see our entire community won to You, brought to life, given hope, stops with no one. If all means all, then it must be all. None can be taken for granted. All to You, and all for You. Help me, help me, help me. I’ve gotten good at grace for many, but I am lacking still for certain ones. Even at my ugliest, You never turned away from me. How can I turn away from any in Your Name? This is indeed a difficult process, more difficult then it seems it should be. I suspect that even though some people seem quite sanctified in this area, inside this must be everyone’s battle. There is someone to rub everyone the wrong way, I’m guessing. Help us all, deliver us from this trick the enemy has played on us. Let Your blood cover it all.

Knowing I will soon share this journaled prayer publicly makes me all the more want to be made right and whole in these things. If I am to share my weakness in prayer, and I must, Father give me strength and integrity to be transformed in these things. I must! I will, in You. Holy Spirit, send Your fire now. Cleanse me, make me more like the Son today. In whatever little or big way You work, I surrender.

I continue in prayer, lifting these things in Your Name, Jesus. Let Your glory rise. Let it rise in me.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment