Greater Than

(Today I read John 7.)

You are the Living Water, You are life to me.  You are my King, and I worship You!  Rise, let Your glory shine! Let the world know You have died for us, risen to life, and reign over all things, holding all things together.

Thank You for giving us festivals, but You are greater than any celebration.  Thank You for inspiring songs, but words cannot come close to Your glory.  Thank You for the beauty of creation, but even that will pale in comparison to Your face on the day it is revealed.  Thank You for friendships, family, and companionship, but even they only hint at the beauty held in Your pure, faithful love.  Let Your glory rise, You hold all things together!

O Father, You are remarkable (and I am only beginning to understand this) in all things, You are unfailing and faithful.  You overwhelm me with the joy of Your presence, and yet I know I am able to live in it.  Thank You, all praise and glory to You.

Giver of life, bring fresh life to my day.  Bring fullness to my understanding, bring discernment and endurance to my wisdom.  Let there be confidence that presses me on to good things, yet may I grow even more humble in love, grace and mercy.  Inform me that I may teach well, counsel me that I may give good direction, inspire me that I may encourage others in Your ways.  I want to be bold, passionate, compassionate, and on the move, yet accessible by all and known for love and justice.  Show me Your ways, create in me a clean heart.  Let Your glory rise in me; You hold all things together.

You are mine, I walk with You, and it is so good!  May Your righteousness prevail, may Your light overtake the darkness, may Your glory shine.  Hold me together now that I may walk uprightly yet humbly through this day.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a comment